ACLED-APW Report Tracking Disorder During Taliban Rule in Afghanistan


  • Helmand Province

    5 June 2020

    Province: Helmand 

    Location: Southwest 

    Helmand province is located in the Southwest of the country. It is the largest province by area. Helmand is bordered by Kandahar to the east, Uruzgan, Daikundi, and Ghor to the north, Farah and Nimroz to the west also to the south it shares 162 Kilometers of the border with neighboring Pakistan. It is surrounded by mountains to the north and deserts to the south. Besides its climate is mild in winter and hot in summer. Its capital is Lashkargah. Helmand has fourteen administrative units including the capital Lashkargah, as well as. Nadali, Marja, Gramsair, Khanshin, Desho, Nawa Grashk, Sangin, Kajaki, Musakala, Baghran, Nawzad, and washir districts. The Kabul-Herat highway passes through Helmand province and a domestic airport is also located in Lashkargah district. 

    Population: 1,500,000

    Area: 61,829-kilometer squares 

    Ethnicity: Pashtuns, Tajiks 

    Languages: Pashto and Dari 

    Opposition Armed Group(s): The Taliban, ISIS, and Lashkar-E-Taiba.

     Districts Under Control of the Government: Lashkargah city, Nawa district, and a few district centers

    Districts Under Control of the Taliban:  Most of Helmand’s territory is under control of the Taliban including northern districts, Nadali, Marje, Garmser, Khansheen, Deesho, Sangin, Kajaki, Musa Kala, Baghran, Nawzad, and Washer

    Contested Districts: 

    Government’s Appointed Governor for the Province: 

    Taliban’s Distinct Governor for the Province: 

    Major Security Incident(s): The fall of important districts of Helmand including a major fraction of Lashkargah city
    Documented Incidents Since RiV: 

    Causes of the War: Drug Trafficking and clashes between the Taliban and the government.