5 ANP personnel defect to Taliban in Badakhshan


Balkh: At least five Afghan National Police (ANP) personnel have defected to the Taliban in Yamgan and Wardooj districts of northern Badakhshan province, claimed a statement from the militant group on Friday but local authorities spurned it untruthful. 
The statement named the policemen as Abdul Rahman, Rawzullah, Abdul Raziq, Ghulam Mohammad and Maqsoodullah, whose pictures were also released by the Taliban. 
However, Sanaullah Rouhani, the provincial police spokesman, dismissed these claims, adding the individuals depicted didn’t belong to ANP.