6 EU Members Against Open Doors for Afghan Asylum Seekers

6 EU Members Against Open Doors for Afghan Asylum Seekers.jpg

KABUL: Reuters reports that six EU member states have warned the bloc’s executive for suspending deportations of unsuccessful Afghan asylum seekers despite the rapid advancements of Taliban militants in Afghanistan.

The Taliban group, fighting to re-establish the strict Islamic law after their collapse in 2001, have advanced their achievements as the US forces are about to fully withdraw by August 31.

The militant group took control of nine districts in less than a week.

EU members countries including Austria, Denmark, Belgium, the Netherlands, Greece, and Germany in a letter published on Twitter, stated, “Stopping returns sends the wrong signal and is likely to motivate even more Afghan citizens to leave their home for the EU.”

They asked the bloc to collaborate with neighboring countries like Iran and Pakistan to boost their support for the Afghan refugees.

Sammy Mahdi, the secretary for asylum and migrations in Belgium, who endorsed the letter, said, “That regions of a country are not safe does not mean that each national of that country automatically is entitled to protection.”