ACLED-APW Report Tracking Disorder During Taliban Rule in Afghanistan

Province: Uruzgan

Location: Central 

Uruzgan is located between Kandahar, Ghazni, Daikundi, Zabul and Helmand provinces, which is considered as a central province of Afghanistan, however, some people consider it in the south. It is bordered by Zabul and Kandahar in the south, Helmand in the southwest, Daikundi in the north and Ghazni in the east.

Population: 328,000

Area: 12,500-kilometer squares 

Ethnicity: Pashtuns, Hazaras, a number of the nomad population

Languages: Pashto and Dari 

Armed Opposition Group(s): The Taliban, sometimes ISIS and Al-Qaeda.

Districts Under Control of the Government: Terenkot city and center of Khast Ruzgan district

Districts Under Control of the Taliban: Dehrawo, Chora, Gezab, Charchino, etc.

Contested Districts: 

Government’s Appointed Governor for the Province: 

Taliban’s Distinct Governor for the Province: Mullah Brother Akhond

Major Security Incident(s):

Documented Incidents Since RiV: ???

Causes of the War:  

  • Clashes between armed Taliban and Afghan. Sometimes ethnic conflicts and clashes between former warlords